Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance Program | Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance Program


What is Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance?


Tribes and Tribal health organizations may now pay for health insurance for Alaska Native and American Indian people who qualify. The Alaska Tribal Health System offers Tribally-sponsored health insurance in Alaska in collaboration with 10 Tribes and Tribal health organizations.


Will Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance cost me anything?


No. ANTHC pays the insurance premium cost. Alaska Native and American Indian people also do not have to pay any co-payments or deductibles when they are seen or referred by Tribal health facilities.


Why should I consider Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance?


Health insurance can help you get medical care when you are traveling or away from Tribal health facilities. Health insurance can also help make more services available for you and all Alaska Native and American Indian people. The program also offers free tax filing and enrollment assistance.


How do I qualify?


Tribally-Sponsored Health Insurance staff will screen you and your family to see if you qualify, if you:

  • Are you an Alaska resident
  • Are eligible for Indian Health Services;
  • Are not covered by or eligible for Medicare Part A, Medicaid, Denali KidCare, TRICARE, CHAMPVA, or affordable health insurance through an employer.

Does this affect my current Alaska Native health benefits?


No. You still get all services at Indian Health Service and Tribal hospitals and health clinics throughout Alaska and the United States. We want you to keep using your hospitals and health clinics wherever and whenever possible!


Who can I contact for more info or to see if I qualify?

Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

To speak with a Health Benefits Specialist, please contact:
hbs@anthc.org
(907) 729-5696

Arctic Slope Native Association – Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital

Arctic Slope Native Association Outreach at (907) 852-9365

Kenaitze Indian Tribe – Dena’ina Health Clinic

Dena’ina Wellness Center Un’ina Navigators: 

Donna Gilbert
907-335-7562  
DGilbert@Kenaitze.org

Joanne Shepard
907-335-7504
JShepard@Kenaitze.org

Crystal Nelson
(907) 335-7563
CNelson@kenaitze.org

Ketchikan Indian Community (KIC)

Patient Benefits Coordinator:
Darryl Simons
907-228-9280
dsimons@kictribe.org

Kodiak Area Native Association


Patient Benefit Coordinator for KANA Main
Paula Matchian
907-486-9861
Paula.Matchian@kodiakhealthcare.org

Patient Benefit Coordinator for Mill Bay Health Center 
Angelica Luckenbach 
(907) 486-7348
Angelica.Luckenbach@kodiakhealthcare.og

Maniilaq Association

United Way Healthcare Navigator
(907) 308-9605
atriest@ak.org

Metlakatla Indian Community

Annette Island Service Unit Registration
907-886-4741

John Fawcett
(907) 886-4741, ext. 2010
jgfawcett@aisu.org

Sabrina Ridley
(907) 886-4741, ext. 2032
sridley@aisu.org

Norton Sound Health Corporation

Maureen Soderstrom
(907) 624-5428
msoderstrom@nshcorp.org

Tisha Kingeekuk
(907) 984-6905
tkingeekuk@nshcorp.org

Sheri Fagerstrom
(907) 443-6408
sfagerstrom@nshcorp.org

Patient Benefits Supervisor
Darla Jemewouk              
(907) 890-2001
djemewouk@nshcorp.org

Southcentral Foundation

Family Health Resources
(907) 729-7225
scffhrtship@southcentralfoundation.com

SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC)

Toll-free at 1-855-966-8684
outreach@searhc.org

Tanana Chiefs Conference

Alternate Health Resources Department:
Rhonda Lohrke
(907) 451-6682, extension 3707
Rhonda.lohrke@tananachiefs.org