COVID-19 vaccine materials now available in Alaska Native languages | Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

COVID-19 vaccine materials now available in Alaska Native languages

June 30, 2021

The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS), Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (ANTHC), Native Peoples Action Community Fund (NPACF), and the Alaska Public Interest Research Group (AKPIRG) recently partnered with eight Alaska Native language panels to create a variety of COVID-19 vaccination materials. The Alaska Native Language Panels convened virtually to create these culturally relevant messages that are now featured in video public service announcements (PSA), posters, stickers, tote bags, water bottles, pop sockets and more.

“Providing our people, particularly our Elders and first language speakers with COVID-19 vaccine information in their own language is crucial to equitable access,” said Rochelle Adams, Gwich’in, Indigenous Engagement Director NPACF. “By uplifting Indigenous languages, facts, encouragement, and science through Indigenous knowledge systems, the speakers hope to provide people with trustworthy information needed to make informed decisions.”

The panels were multi-generational, with language learners, Elders, teachers, and other language experts participating. Each panelist contributed their own unique talents–from orthography expertise and technology skills to artistic vision and traditional knowledge–all with the intent of translating important information to be communicated effectively and in a trustworthy manner with care for their communities.

A special thank you to each of the participants of the Alaska Native Language Panels for their time and participation.

All materials are available to order for your community at

KPIRG/NPACF Yugtun/Cugtun Language PanelAl’aq Cheryl Charles Smith, Rosalie Lincoln, Catherine Moses, Dorie Wassilie, Marie Hoover, Veronica Kaganak, and Lorina Warren
AKPIRG/NPACF Gwichyaa Zhee Gwich’in Language PanelMary Fields, Hishinlai’ Peter and Amaya Shaw
AKPIRG/NPACF Neets’aii Gwich’in Language PanelTraditional Chief Dr. Rev. Trimble Gilbert and Kenneth Frank
AKPIRG/NPACF Inupiaqtun Language PanelRichard Atuk, Georgianne Oonak Merrill, Annie Conger, Maggie Pollock, and Annauk Olin
* The Inupiaqtun group created materials in both Brevig Mission and Shishmaref Inupiaqtun
AKPIRG/NPACF Ahtna Language PanelMelissa Shaginoff and Sondra Shaginoff-Stuart
AKPIRG/NPACF Lingít Language PanelX̱’unei Twitchell and Aandax̱ltín Stephanie Tripp
AKPIRG/NPACF Denaakk’e Language PanelHʉkk’aaghneestaatlno Lorraine David, Velma Schafer, Alberta Vent, and Kk’ołeyo Dewey Hoffman

Browse More Stories

Share This Story