Recipients selected for 2018 ANTHC scholarship

September 19, 2018

The 2018 ANTHC Scholarship was recently awarded to 10 qualified Alaska Native or American Indian students who are pursuing higher education in health care-related professions.

ANTHC’s Human Resources department received 120 applications during the 2018 application period, representing great promise for the future health care workforce in our state. The Scholarship Selection Committee selected recipients based on their grade point average, major field of study, strength of character illustrated in their letters of recommendation, and the honesty and sincerity of their personal statement. As this is a statewide scholarship, the selection committee also aimed to select qualified recipients who represented various regions and Tribes across the state.

The $5,000 ANTHC Scholarship was established by the Board of Directors to help support Alaska Natives/American Indians pursuing higher education in health-related fields. Students may use the scholarship for room/board, tuition, books, or fees during the fall 2018 and spring 2019 terms.

Scholarship recipients:
Lisa Dirks; University of Washington, doctorate in Information Science; Native Village of Atka.

Katrina Domnick; University of Alaska Anchorage, Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences with a minor in Psychology; Orutsararmiut Native Council.

Alicia Evan; Stanford University, Bachelor of Science in Biology; Bethel.

Cheryl George; University of Alaska Anchorage, Master of Science in Nursing; Tununak Tribe.

Kevin Hansen; University of North Dakota, Doctor of Physical Therapy; Kotzebue.

Daryl Jordan; University of Washington School of Medicine, Doctor of Medicine; Native Village of Kluti-Kaah.

Michael Martinez; University of Alaska Anchorage, Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences; Village of Kotlik.

Tiera Schroeder; University of Alaska Anchorage, doctorate in Clinical Community Psychology with Rural, Indigenous Emphasis; Dillingham.

Megan Swegar; University of Washington, Doctor of Physical Therapy in Rehabilitation Medicine; Metlakatla.

Stephanie Weter; University of Washington, Doctor of Medicine.

Thank you to the many Alaska Native and American Indian students who applied. Your hard work and dedication to higher education is an inspiration!

For more information, or to apply for the 2019-2020 scholarship, please contact the ANTHC Human Resources department by email at or phone at (907) 729-1301.

Browse More Stories

Share This Story